Let’s all act like we’re back in Highschool

Do we all act the same way when we meet our friends from high school? I don’t know about you, but when I meet my friends, like Loucas, Ernesto and Alexis who appear on the video above, after 5 minutes of formalities we end up acting the same way we did when we were 12.

Friends since forever

I grew up with these guys, we’d been together in the same classroom since the age of 3 or 4. The only times we were not together was during summer holidays; now for more than a year, all of a sudden, I see them no more. It’s quite tragic really. Our school’s system binds us together so much and then expects us to move on just like that. I won’t complain, I am not finding it hard, but when it comes to friendships I have a lot to say.

Friendships in life

Nothing compares to these people who I went to school with. Don’t get me wrong, I meet people daily – and end up making great friends along the way. Also, I am changing so my “new” friends are learning “new” me. But the people who grew up with me – I know them as well as I know myself, I know what they are thinking, what they really mean when they say “I’m doing fine”, and vice-versa. And what’s beautiful about it – it’s that with these guys our love for each other is  innocent – our friendship is pure. There are no hidden cards, no hidden motives behind us being friends. We didn’t choose to become friends to benefit from each other in any way – we didn’t think about our careers before we started playing together – we just played. I believe strongly in friendship – in fact it’s my strongest bond. Having no siblings, the people I have always considered to be family were my close friends and extended family.

Thoughts on that? Leave a comment.

